Facebook Introduces Snooze Feature to Temporarily Unfollow Friends


Sick of cat pictures and holiday snaps?

Snooze can be accessed by tapping on the top-right drop-down menu of a post. "You will be notified before the "Snooze" period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time", the post read.

The social networking giant has introduced a new feature called Snooze that will allow its users to temporarily unfollow other people, pages or groups for 30 days.

Crucially, the people you snooze never know about it. There's also an option to reverse the feature if they regret their ban.

Hoorah! See you in thirty days.

More news: Donald Trump's stand on North Korea unchanged: White House

Personally, I think it would be an unbelievable roll out in the present scenario as people are actively using the last week's newly launched tool of answering their personal questions and News Feed these days are flooded with the answers as every answer is its own status update post.

'With Snooze, you don't have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone's posts for a short period of time, ' said Shruthi Muraleedharan, a Facebook Product Manager. The other person, page or group won't be notified about the fact that they've been silenced for 30 days. Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip?

They've also added a tool called Take A Break, which functions similarly to the Snooze tool, but is created to help users control how much or how little they see of an ex-partner's Facebook content.

"One of our core News Feed values is giving people more control".

Jonathan is our Google Nexus and Android enthusiast. In addition to writing about tech, Jonathan has a passion for fitness and nutrition and has previously written for one the UK's leading watch and horology websites.